Great Indian Son

Indian-origin novelist Rohinton Mistry is among 13 authors shortlisted for the prestigious USD 96,070 Man Booker International Prize, where strangely British thriller writer John Le Carre withdrew his name.

Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize is a biennial international literary award given to a living author of any nationality for fiction published in English or generally available in English translation. The award, sponsored by the Man Group and established in 2005 to complement the Man Booker Prize, rewards one writer's overall achievement in literature and their significant influence on writers and readers worldwide. The award is therefore a recognition of the writer's body of work, rather than any one title. 2005 - Ismail Kadare (Albania) 2007- Chinua Achebe (Nigeria) 2009 - Alice Munro (Canada)

Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original full-length novel, written in the English language, by a citizen of the Commonwealth of Nations, Ireland, or Zimbabwe. The prize was originally known as the Booker-McConnell Prize, after the company Booker-McConnell began sponsoring the event in 1968; it became commonly known as the "Booker Prize" or simply "the Booker." When administration of the prize was transferred to the Booker Prize Foundation in 2002, the title sponsor became the investment company Man Group, which opted to retain "Booker" as part of the official title of the prize.

The prize money awarded with the Booker Prize was originally £21,000, and was subsequently raised to £50,000 in 2002 under the sponsorship of the Man Group.

The rules of the Booker changed in 1971; previously, it had been awarded retrospectively to books published prior to the year in which the award was given. In 1971 the year of eligibility was changed to the same as the year of the award; in effect, this meant that books published in 1970 were not considered for the Booker in either year. The Booker Prize Foundation announced in January 2010 the creation of a special award called the "Lost Man Booker Prize," with the winner chosen from a longlist of 22 novels published in 1970.

2001 was the first year in which the longlist was revealed to the general public.

Rohinton Mistry

Rohinton Mistry is an Indian-born Canadian writer in English. Bibliography * Tales from Firozsha Baag (1987). * Such a Long Journey (shortlisted for Booker Prize for Fiction, 1991). * A Fine Balance (shortlisted for Booker Prize for Fiction, 1996). * Family Matters (shortlisted for Booker Prize for Fiction, 2002). * The Scream (2006).


More by :  Arnab Sain

Top | Society

Views: 3486      Comments: 0

Name *

Email ID

Comment *
Verification Code*

Can't read? Reload

Please fill the above code for verification.